How do I find the amount I owe for property taxes?
When are property taxes due?
An annual property tax notice is mailed in September of each year. The first half taxes and full year tax notices of $100.00 or less are payable on October 1st, and become delinquent if not paid by 5:00p.m. on November 1st of each year. Taxpayers will not be penalized if the payment carries a postmark of November 1st.
If the entire amount billed per tax notice is over $100.00 it may be paid in full by December 31st without interest or penalty. Taxpayers will not be penalized if the payment carries a postmark of December 31st.
Second half taxes are payable on March 1st and become delinquent if not paid by 5:00 p.m. on May 1st of each year. Taxpayers will not be penalized if the payment carries a postmark of May 1st.
Please include the payment coupon or parcel number with payment.
Penalty for late payment is an annual 16% prorated monthly as of the first day of the month in accordance with ARS 42-18053.
Does the county sell my house if my taxes are delinquent?
An online Tax Lien Sale
is held for prior years delinquent taxes to offer a tax lien certificate at public auction. This does not give anyone the right to enter or take possession of the property. At any time beginning three years after the sale of a tax lien the purchaser has a right to foreclose on his/her lien.(ARS:42-18201) After a period of 5 years, the statutes require that the county foreclose on the tax lien on behalf of the State of Arizona. (ARS: 42-18261) Click here
to visit the Pinal County tax lien sale site.
Do I have to pay interest if I don't receive a tax bill?
Yes. Although the Treasurer makes every effort to mail a tax bill to all property owners, the Arizona Revised Statutes does not require the Treasurer to do so. Each taxpayer is responsible for paying the taxes due. Penalty for late payment is an annual 16% prorated monthly as of the first day of the month in accordance with ARS 42-18053.
When will I receive a tax bill?
The tax bills are mailed in September of each year. If you did not receive a tax bill by the end of September, click here
and enter your information to view your tax bill.
My mortgage company is supposed to pay my taxes, does the Treasurer send a bill to the mortgage company?
The mortgage company will contact the Treasurer to obtain the information required for processing a payment. If the property owner requests the tax bill to be mailed to the mortgage company, the address will be updated, however, only one original tax bill is mailed each year.
What is the mailing address?
The mailing address is: Pinal County Treasurer, P.O. Box 729, Florence, AZ 85132-0729. The Treasurer may also be reached at Customer.Service@pinalcountyaz.gov
or by fax at (520) 868-9007.
What are your office hours?
Florence: office hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday thru Friday
Casa Grande: Tuesday and Thursday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Closed for lunch 12 p.m. - 1 p.m.
Apache Junction: Monday, Wednesday & Friday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Closed for lunch 12 p.m. - 1 p.m.
Mammoth: Tuesday and Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
(Offices are closed for State and Federal holidays and weekends.)
Who do I make my check payable to?
Make checks payable to Pinal County Treasurer and include a payment coupon or parcel number along with payment.
What is a tax lien sale of property?
A online Tax Lien Sale
is held for prior years delinquent taxes to offer a tax lien certificate at public auction. This does not give anyone the right to enter or take possession of the property. At any time beginning three years after the sale of a tax lien the purchaser has a right to foreclose on his/her lien.(ARS:42-18201) After a period of 5 years, the statutes require that the county foreclose on the tax lien on behalf of the State of Arizona. (ARS: 42-18261). Click here
for more information.
How do I buy property for delinquent taxes?
or log onto to the Pinal County tax lien sale site at www.pinaltaxsale.com to register as a bidder.
Can I pay my taxes with a Credit Card?
Can I wire the funds to pay my taxes?
Yes, please contact the Treasurer's office at (520)866-6425 for the information required.
Do you have a toll free phone number?
Yes, it is 1-888-431-1311.
If I buy a piece of land that is a split portion of another parcel, why does it take so long for me to receive my own parcel number and tax bill?
The Assessor's office is responsible for the split and combinations of parcels and they are required by law to close out their books at a certain time. They are usually working two years in the future.
Why do I get two tax bills?
Real property tax statements are for land. Personal Property tax statements are for mobile homes or businesses. A mobile home is taxed separately from land resulting in two tax bills. To combine these two, an Affidavit of Affixture may be filed, for information regarding this matter contact the Pinal County Assessor, (520) 866-6365.
Can I use online banking or a bill pay website to pay bills?
If you use online banking or a bill pay website to pay bills it’s now faster and easier to pay property taxes. Payment must be scheduled to ensure that it is received in our office by the due date shown on the tax bill to avoid late penalties (process and terms and conditions varies by online banking or bill pay web site provider). It is important to identify the “payee” as Pinal County Treasurer and your 10 digit parcel number (located on the tax bill) in the “Account Number” field.
How do I submit a change of address?
The tax bills are mailed to the mailing address on record with the Assessor in September of each year. Address can be updated in person at the Pinal County Assessor Office or by submitting a change of address
form directly from our website.Please update your address timely to ensure that your tax bill is mailed to your current address. Any additional tax related notices will also be mailed to the mailing address on file with the assessor.
How can I get a copy of the Tax Statement?
Tax information, including a statement and payment coupons are available on the Tax Bill Search site or click here
How does the ownership change once my parcel is sold?
The ownership records are updated each time a deed is recorded with the Pinal County Recorder's Office. Since property transfers occur on a daily basis in large volumes, a minimum of ten (10) days is required to update the Assessor and Treasurer records. For more information concerning title recordings, visit the website of the Pinal County Recorder's Office
or request information at P.O. Box 848, Florence, Arizona 85132.
Why can’t I see an image of my tax payment check?
When you provide a check as payment, you authorize us either to use the information from your check to make a one-time electronic fund transfer from your account or to process the payment as a check transaction.
When we use information from your check to make an electronic funds transfer, funds may be withdrawn from your account as soon as the same day we receive your payment and you will not receive your check back from your financial institution.
Who do I talk to regarding the tax jurisdictions or services provided by these entities listed on my tax bill?
Property taxes are collected on behalf of and for the benefit of many different entities. Inquiries concerning the budgets; taxes or services provided from these entities should be directed to the individual agencies. Click here for the Tax Jurisdiction Contact List
Who sets the tax rates?
- The State Legislature, through statutes, sets the rates for school equalization.
- The Board of Supervisors sets the tax rates for ONLY Pinal County, Pinal County Library District, Pinal County Flood Control District and Fire District Assistance Tax.
- Each City or Town, School District, Special District and Central Arizona Water Conservation District independently sets its own tax rates.
- Central Arizona College sets the tax rate for Pinal County Jr. College.
- Special Districts Boards independently set the Levy/Rate for its district.
How are tax dollars spent?